Toby

This past December I got a new dog! It was a big decision to make, but I really feel that it was the best decision for myself. When I graduated college I knew I wanted a dog, and when I was living on my own it seemed like the best way to keep myself from feeling lonely. My boyfriend at the time was still in college about two hours away, and I was in a new town 3 hours away from home. So I adopted a 3 year old Schnauzer mix without putting much thought into it. His name was Kasey ad he was so cute! Little did I know he was a biter. He never bit me, but he was aggressive towards my ex-boyfriend, children, and for some reason my ex’s grandmother. When I moved to Boston I knew I couldn’t take him back with me, with his behavior it definitely wouldn’t be safe in the city. I had to make a heart breaking decision to give him up for adoption. I spent about a year with Kasey, he learned so many cool tricks and was a big comfort to me during my breakup. I felt horrible about it, but knew it was for the best.

Flash forward to living in Boston, which was also my first time living in a city. I suddenly became very depressed. The allure of the city wore off, the stress of my new job and the financial responsibilities of living in the city were heavy on my shoulders. Add on top of that the grief that would creep up randomly about my breakup; I was a mess. I wasn’t getting much done at work, I’d cry inconsolably, and I wasn’t living a very healthy lifestyle. I took a few steps towards making sure I was healthy both mentally and physically, but still something was missing.

I started looking into getting a dog again… I was hesitant. I had felt like such a failure for giving up the last dog, what kind of person gives a dog back after a year of adopting him? But I found a craigslist add for a litter of puppies. I knew I’d be taking a risk with craigslist, but I called the woman anyway. She had one puppy left and had another interested family. I asked her to meet me and within two hours I had Toby in the car on our way home!

I was in disbelief… “did I really just buy a dog?!” And for those of who are “adopt don’t shop”, trust me I’m with you! Adoption is just so competitive in Boston, and I didn’t think I’d get anywhere fast with that.

Toby has been a light in my life since he joined me and my roommate! He is entertaining, cuddly, and energetic! He gets me outside multiple times a day, wakes me up early, and motivates me to be healthier which in turn makes me happier.

img_0068

Leave a Reply

